skip to main content

Indie music label and distributor

Soda Lake


Release Date: 16 August 2004

Format: CD Album

Label: Necessary Records




1.San Diego Hair
2.Cats Of Brazil
3.Winifred Whyte
4.Conservative Drive
6.The Ancient Key
7.Open Glory


In March 2003, Birmingham's Distophia entered the Vicarage Studios in Birmingham to record their debut album. Ten hours later, they emerged with 'Soda Lake' – seven tracks of perfect pop welded to cascading swathes of white noise and feedback. It's a mini-album that is released at a mini-price.

In 1995, Pete Dixon (vocals, guitar) conceived an ambitious musical design ethic that incorporated golden melody and vast, raging dissonance. He was ten at the time. Five years later he met up with Seb Linton (bass), Tom Whitfield (drums) and John Biggs (vocals, guitar). Distophia were ready.

The four band members grew up listening a soundtrack of Pavement, Dinosaur Jr, Mogwai and Sebadoh. 'Soda Lake" is the product of this education by a band still in the process of saying goodbye to their teens.

So good and so young, Distophia have already supported the likes of Prosaics, Young Heart Attack and 80s Matchbox B-Line Disaster and supported Jetplane Landing on their UK tour.

Recently described by Yeah Yeah Yeahs as 'awesome', Distophia are the real sonic youths.