skip to main content

Indie music label and distributor

Radio Controlled Robot


Release Date: 05 May 2008

Format: CD Album

Label: Sovereign Entertainment



Buy and Stream from our Digital Partners:

Apple Music


01 Louder Than Bombs
02 Overexposed
03 Beautiful
04 Radiocontrolledrobot
05 Dragonflies & Astronauts
06 Colourful
07 Interlude (the Impossible)
08 Pretend
09 Rock Paper Scissors
10 Martyr
11 Here Comes A Man
12 Tiny


The genius of the band was recognised earlier in the year when the Gold selling 'Radiocontrolledrobot' (released early in 2008 in the UK) won them the SAMA Best Rock Album at the South Africa's Music Awards (The equivalent of the UK Brits) and spawned 3 top ten singles including a number 1.

"The Parlotones are absolutely one of the best bands to come out of the 'Dark Continent' this century!" — Maggie Woods, MotorBar

" On the light side of Indie rock with a slash of pop. They sound a bit like the Killers, but with a lot more love. Their influences include the likes of the Beatles, REM, Radiohead and The Cure. Some of their songs are really unique and quirky though." - Maire Bonheim,

"A magical blend of rock indie pop with seductive vocals and instrumentals — The
Parlotones unleashed!" -

"I've had a listen and they're really good!" – Rav Singh, News Of The World

The second single is a pretty good effort. Lifted from the released-in-May 'Radiocontrolledrobot', the South African group, who have been invited to play at 2008's BScene festival, have followed up first single 'Beautiful' rather well 4/5 stars. - Matt Churchill,