Spiral of Ascension


Release Date: 01 November 2011
Format: Digital
Label: Paul Sadler Productions

Buy from our Digital Partners:


Equilibrium 6:47
The Infinite Descent 6:36
Nightfall 2:17
Broken Hourglass 13:34
Symmetry 4:54
Martyr 10:32
Spiral of Ascension 14:36
A New Prayer 5:54


Spires are a four piece Progressive Metal band from Manchester, UK. Initially the brainchild of vocalist, guitarist and producer Paul Sadler, he was later joined by the virtuosic Paul Cuthbert on guitar (ex Nailed), Alex Jolley on bass, and Chris Barnard on drums.

Comparisons can be made to Opeth, Emperor, Mastodon and Cynic. Spires deliver an original, mesmerising sound, combining technicality and intricate musicianship with a natural flare for songwriting.

Spires released their debut full length album, 'Spiral of Ascension' in November 2010. The album has received huge amounts of praise and respect worldwide. It is a culmination of everything the band has sought to achieve, with a fantastic production, tight and passionate performance, and beautiful artwork from Daniella Morrison.

2011 has seen them going on a mini UK tour with London based Talanas, playing Bloodstock Open air, and preparing material for the second album.